How a Boulder Personal Injury Lawyer Can Help Build a Case for Compensation
Under Colorado law, you can obtain compensation from anyone who is responsible
for the accident that hurt you. For example, if you were injured in a
car accident, then the motorist who slammed into you or who forced you
off the road is probably at fault for the wreck.
After an accident, you need to carefully document what happened. This documentation
will depend on the circumstances, but can include:
- Getting pictures of damage to your vehicle
- Taking pictures of your physical injuries
- Holding onto any product that injured you
- Calling the police out to the scene of a car accident
- Identifying any witnesses to the incident that injured you
- Holding onto all medical records and bills
Many of our clients have received compensation to cover lost wages, medical
care, and property damage. You might also qualify for pain and suffering
and compensation for other intangible losses. Meet with a Boulder personal
injury attorney to review your situation.
Identifying Who to Sue
As experienced Boulder personal injury lawyers, we have handled all kinds
of cases. In our experience, you will likely sue the following people:
We have experience handling cases involving catastrophic injuries, brain
injuries, and spinal cord damage. If a loved one died in an accident,
a Boulder personal injury lawyer can help with a wrongful death lawsuit as well.
Average Settlement for a Car Accident
Every case is different, so speaking of “averages” is not very
helpful. Instead, one of our Boulder personal injury lawyers will look
at the totality of the circumstances to try and calculate the amount you
If you are injured in a car accident, you can receive money to repair your
vehicle and be paid compensation to cover your medical bills and lost
wages. Based on your injuries, you can also receive a sum of money to
make up for your pain and suffering. A Boulder car accident attorney can
use his experience to estimate the amount.
There are some limitations on settlement, however. For one, the defendant’s
car insurance policy might represent the only money available to pay out
compensation. Colorado currently only requires that its drivers carry
bodily injury liability per victim, up to $50,000 per accident. Your injuries could be worth much
more than that.
Also, Colorado recognizes contributory negligence (Colo. Rev. Stat. §
13-21-111). If you were 50% or more responsible for the accident, then
you can’t receive compensation in a lawsuit. However, if you were
less than 50%, then you can. However, your total compensation will be
reduced by your percentage of fault. Learn more about how much your car
accident settlement could be with a Boulder car accident lawyer.
If you have been injured in a crash, slip and fall, or other incident,
don’t delay talking to a lawyer. Under Colorado law, injured victims
have only so much time to bring a lawsuit:
- Personal injury: 2 years
- Personal injury involving a motor vehicle: 3 years
- Defective product: 2 years
Remember to get your lawsuit filed before the statute of limitations period
runs out. If not, a judge can toss your case out of court, which will
prevent you from receiving compensation.
Speak to a Boulder Personal Injury Attorney Now
The moments after an accident are confusing and scary. You need steady
legal guidance during this time, and
Denver Trial Lawyers ® is happy to meet with you to discuss the services we offer.
After a crash or other accident, give our Boulder personal injury lawyers
a call at
(303) 647-9990. A member of our team can meet with you to go over what happened. Remember,
no accident is too minor to not meet with a lawyer, so
contact us online today to schedule a free initial consultation.