How Long Do I Have to File an Injury Claim in Colorado?
Right after being hurt in a personal injury case, your mind is probably focused on your recovery and how you’re going to pay for your extensive medical bills and any future treatment. As a personal injury victim, you may not be aware that your rights could be affected by your state’s statute of limitations—laws which set the maximum time after an event within which you can file a lawsuit.
Colorado has its own deadlines for filing an injury-related case in court. In Colorado, for most non-auto related cases, you have two years to file a lawsuit after an injury. If you don’t file your case within those two years, you may be barred from taking it to court.
In most injury cases, the two-year limit starts on the date of the accident. In several cases, such as a medical malpractice claim, an injured person may not be able to tell they are injured right away. For example, let’s say a sponge is accidentally left in someone’s liver after surgery. In that case, the two-year time limit may run from the “discovery date” of the injury, which may be the day the sponge is discovered in the liver.
Below is a list of the statutes of limitations for various personal injury claims in Colorado:
- Auto accident – 3 years
- Slip and fall – 2 years
- Premises liability – 2 years
- Toxic tort – 2 years
- Dog bite – 2 years
- Product liability – 2 years
- Assault or battery – 1 years
- Claims against the government – 180 days
- Minors – statute of limitations begins on 18th birthday
- Wrongful death – 2 years
- Workers’ compensation claims – 2 years
- Medical malpractice – 2 years with discovery rule
For legal guidance you can trust, contact Denver Trial Lawyers ® today. Our team of Denver personal injury lawyers are dedicated to providing aggressive representation to try and obtain compensation for your injuries, medical bills and more.
Call 303-571-5302 or contact us online for a free case evaluation. Se habla Español.